Locust Bean Gum

Locust bean gum, also known as carob bean gum, is derived from carob tree seeds to form a versatile, natural thickening agent. Used in many food product applications, locust bean gum is similar to guar gum, with one important distinction: Locust bean gum requires a heat activation step – 180F is necessary for full functionality.

Download Our Locust Bean Gum Product Sheet.

As an industry-leading locust bean gum supplier, Tilley Distribution and ISI are uniquely positioned to offer top-quality products with exceptional customer service and supply chain management. Let’s get the conversation started.

Bagel with Cream Cheese

Ice Cream Cones

Locust Bean Gum in Food and Beverage Applications

Used alone, locust bean gum is an effective thickening agent and water binder. This naturally occurring ingredient relies on heat for complete dissolution.

Locust bean gum is well suited for use in a variety of foods:

  • Ice Creams (Both dairy and non-dairy)
  • Cream Cheese
  • Water Gel Desserts
  • Cheese sauces and spreads/dips

The locust bean gum process yields natural differences in clarity, color and black specks in the powder (similar to vanilla bean ice cream). The black specks are residuals from the seed’s hulls. The ISI/Tilley team can offer both high and standard grades depending upon product appearance requirements. Our R&D lab can work with you to optimize target textures and mouthfeel.

Locust Bean Gum
vs Guar Gum

Locust bean gum is often compared to Guar which is also a galactomannan. Structurally, the two have a similar composition, though locust bean gum is different because it requires heat activation for optimal performance.  A standout property of LBG is its ability to provide superior freeze thaw stability by inhibiting ice crystallization in freezer stored foods.

Locust bean gum forms a synergistic gel with xantham gum, yielding a softer, more flexible gel in comparison to more brittle alternatives such as Agar or kappa carrageenan which are also synergistic with locust bean gum.

Nachos and Queso

Kids eating Ice Cream


Is locust bean gum vegan?

Locust bean gum is an organic allowed ingredient. Further organic certification is available upon request.

Is locust bean gum halal?

Locust bean gum can be halal approved.

Is locust bean gum gluten-free?

Locust bean gum is gluten-free allowed. Further certification is available upon request.

Is locust bean gum kosher?

Locust bean gum can be certified kosher.

Order Locust Bean Gum from Tilley Distribution

We take pride in offering the highest-quality ingredients as well as custom solutions to meet your unique needs. Tilley/ISI Company’s supply chain management and excellent customer service make us a reliable partner to keep your business running smoother. Let’s get the conversation started.

Contact an ISI technician today by phone or email.